Sikh Calendar

Sikh's follow the India Lunar calendar to work out dates for Vaisakhi and Diwali. Each lunar month is the time between two new moons.The lunar calendar is divided into 12 months and as the lunar year is shorter than the Solar year, an exrta month is added every third year.
The first month called "chaiter" in Punjabi.

The diagram shows when the major festivals occur during the months of Lunar and Solar year.

Ten Guru's Golden Temple MK Temple Holy Book The Guru's Prayer
Nishan Sahib Vaisakhi Diwali Sikhism Words