Fascinating Facts about Sherington
Sherington saw action in the Civil war(1642-1649), with the church being used to stable the horses. One road in the village (Gun Lane) commemorates where the Roundhead Parliamentarian soldiers had their billets.
Click on the logo to go home
A more recent development (Carters Close) is named after a General Carter who camped his troops there whilst marching north.
The village is equidistant between Oxford and Cambridge. When these two universities called a 'truce', to unite against the new 'red-brick' universities, they met at Sherington to enact a ceremonial 'burying the hatchet'. On 24th February 1935 a hatchet was buried on the Knoll, but has subsequently been stolen by persons unknown.

The Parish Council was first elected in 1895.

Bancroft field near to Bedford Road, was once an ancient burial site.

Hillview was built on the site of a World War II prisoner of war camp.

St Lauds is the only church in England with that dedication.